Close to home

Well we’re back after an unexpected break. Believe it or not we actually did a testing a few weeks ago with my sister, but none of us felt like blogging about it and now it happened too long ago for dad to remember his opinions. So this week we’re back with something a little special. All the root beers we tried are made in Minnesota. Whistler and North star are the two root beers that dad picked up at the Whistler bottling plant in Forest Lake, Minnesota. Voyageur butterscotch and Northern draft are the two root beers that I found in a little general store type thing in Ossipee, Minnesota.

Northern Draft- This was my favorite of the night. It was extremely foamy. By far it was the foamiest of the four. It had a pretty generic or neutral taste, which apparently I like. I give this a 4/5

Whistler- This one smelled cola-y (which we all know I don’t like). The taste was actually root beer though. It was pretty wintergreen-y. For the first time ever I’ll comment on the “bite”. It had no bite. Still it’s a pretty good bottle of root beer. 4/5

Voyageur Butterscotch- When I first tried this I didn’t taste any butterscotch. It actually tasted like some 3 year old decided to put their strawberry candy into a bottle of root beer just to see what would happen. After knowing it was butterscotch, I could taste butterscotch but initially I tasted strawberry flavoring. Oddly enough I apparently like my strawberry illusion enough to give this a 3/5

North Star- I always smell our root beer before I drink it. This had a smell, but it was very faint. I initially thought the taste was okay, but there was something in the aftertaste that I was not a fan of. Overall this was the worst of the 4, but it still didn’t suck. 3/5

So I’ve decided that even though Minnesota has basically nothing to do, we have some pretty decent root beer. Also we “added” a rule that we need to write our posts within an hour of trying the root beer. So far we’ve both failed (I gave up on it before dad even finished saying the “new rule”).

~Elaina

Leave a comment